Home > main > I can’t believe I ate the whole thing…

I can’t believe I ate the whole thing…

November 28, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Are any of you old enough to remember that Alka Seltzer commercial?  Well, the whole thing I’m referring to is the idea that our food supply was safe and in the hands of Ma and Pa Farmer.

Wrong.

Just got through watching the movie, “Food, Inc.”  If I had any doubt about the food-fibro connection before, this movie ground it out of me.  Oh my god.  It’s so much worse than I even knew.  I cannot go through the whole movie right here but suffice to say you MUST watch it.  Seriously.  Because you can’t watch it and then blithely go back to your old eating habits.  Or at least I can’t watch it and go back to my old eating habits.  No more store bought meat for me and mine; it’s gotta be from someplace I trust.  Which is definitely not Albertsons or Safeway.

I hope I can get Kevin to watch it or at least understand why we’ve got to change our food…even more than we’ve been doing.   Who would of guessed I’d get so riled up about something at age 53?  But it’s got me going.

Besides having my daughter move 1000 miles away to Texas, my mother has been having more serious health problems.  I want her to stay in her own place as long as possible (and probably so does her husband, my stepdad) but it seems to require a hell of a lot more effort from me and my siblings.  I’ve been going over there 4 or 5 times a week to help her manage her diabetes.  And all the funny little things she forgot or stories she repeated 100 times are taking on a darker light.  The word “dementia” is definitely coming into play with her doctors.  Sigh…  And I’m the oldest child plus a female so I’m taking the lead.  My siblings probably couldn’t pry the job away from me even if they wanted.

The only reason I can even DO this now is because of my diet.  Otherwise, my fibromyalgia wouldn’t allow it.  It would be too much.  So I’m grateful but sad.  And I need to write about it.

So I guess the blog is back on.

  1. November 29, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    Good to see you back.
    I’ve felt the same way about where our food comes from, but it’s really hard to pay the prices for the good food. We ate pretty much only organic, as local as possible, sustainable, no antibiotics, no hormones, no preservatives….as much as possible, but our grocery bill got so high. We still try to do it as much as we can, but we just can’t do it all. In the spring and summer it’s easier because we can go to the Farmer’s Market every weekend, but during the off season it’s much harder. And I’m not as crazy about the winter veggies we can get local.

    I took care of my mother when she had lung/bone cancer. It was a difficult time, but I too wouldn’t have given a moment to anyone else. However, you must remember to take care of yourself. I ended up making myself very sick. Luckily, I was able to fight through it and could still care for her, but I almost ended up in the hospital.

    Looking forward to catching up.

    • jp
      November 29, 2009 at 5:33 pm

      Wendy,

      You always make me feel good 🙂 I know what you mean about the cost. I’m not sure how it’s going to work with grass fed beef somewhere around $9/lb. Hmmm…I’m just going to try and take it slow and do what I can. Hey, we’re still eating better than we were, right?

      Thank you also for sharing about your mother. It’s hard to know what is the best thing to do. I can see there might come a time when we just can’t do it anymore but for now, I take the weekends off as much as possible and let my step-dad handle things. I know I’m stressed out because I had a dream about eating Doritos. Lots and lots of Doritos!! Haha.

      Stay tuned, Jacki

  2. May 1, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    I”m hosting a web carnival this month. If you are interested: Go Ahead Honey It’s Gluten-Free

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment