Home > main > Not so mighty fibromite

Not so mighty fibromite

October 24, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’m really discouraged today.  I woke up stiff with a band of pain around my abdomen about kidney height.  And anxious as all hell.  The lists of foods and food categories that are safe and unsafe are spinning around in my head like Dorthy’s twister.

I need to get a grip on myself.

This corn thing is much more overwhelming than the gluten.  How I’m going to go about this is beyond me at the moment…except to say for today, I can eat oatmeal, sweet potato, chicken and veggies.  Basically.  That can be my diet for today.  I don’t think there is anything bad in these things (my oatmeal is GF).  I could probably find many things wrong with the chicken but I’m drawing a line.

And if the truth be told, I ate pepper jack cheese last night like I was flipping off a stranger.  Boldly and aggressively even while knowing it was wrong and I would feel shitty later.  Sigh…

Oh, and get this.  When I was taking tramadol for my fibromyalgia it would work less and less so I’d take more and more.  (any addict will tell you how that works!)  The last couple of years I took 6 pills a day.  And still had pain.  And brain fog up the butt.  This last spring I went slowly off the tramadol and felt tremendously better.  I am still taking the hydrocodone but it works really well and I have little to no side effects.  Except dependency but I can deal with that.

Anyway…….I googled tramadol and guess what the first “inert” ingrediant is?  Cornstarch!  I could not find any evidence of cornstarch in the hydrocodone.

This is crazy…

So all signs point to corn and it’s devil spawn of derivatives.  Last night I went through the cupboard telling Kevin in an increasingly rising voice, “oh god, this has corn in it, this has corn in it, etc, etc.”  Until he suggested I might want to calm down.

Just for today (thank you AA) I know I can eat unprocessed meat (if there is such a thing), vegetables (except nightshades) and fruits (except citrus).  That’s not too complicated, is it?

I’ve gotta laugh or I’m gonna cry…..

  1. sam shaffer
    October 25, 2009 at 2:06 am

    dear one. do not despair. your efforts are helping many of us too tired and aching and selfish to share as you have so courageously and faithfully done throughout these many months! I have derived ongoing hope not only for myself but for my precious Andy who is 6’1″ tall and 140 lbs. from ulcerative colitis. I will either go back through or you may have a collection of recipes that you would like to publish for those of us who can’t eat ANYTHING.

    so thank you. again. for all that you have added to our lives while sooooo much has been taken away.

    WE LOVE YOU!!

    • jp
      October 26, 2009 at 8:04 am

      Thanks for the encouragement, sam. I need it right now. 🙂 I’m really doing pretty good…just kinda stressed out. You know how it goes.
      Love…J.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

