Home > main > A big a-ha moment

A big a-ha moment

October 23, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

So I’m dinking around on the web, not feeling good because of the tomatoes.  And I decide to investigate corn.  I’ve been really focused on gluten free and I know nightshade plants such as tomato get me bad.  But remember when I had corn one evening?  Of all the things I’ve challenged and gotten a reaction to, it was the worst.

I’m reading these corn allergen/intolerance sites and things start falling into place.  When I’ve been eating my baking I get a stinging throat.  Not a big body thing but a nasty sting.  Well, all my baking has vanilla and guess what kind of alcohol they make it with?  Yep, corn.  Ditto baking powder.  And some corn sensitive people can’t do sorghum or xanthan.  All in my baking.

Plus I’ve had several surgeries in my life.  Everytime I get sick as a dog and always have problems right afterward.  I definitely vomit my guts out, even with a surgery that is supposed to be a day surgery.  I end up staying overnight at least.

Guess what was in my IV the whole time?  Glucose.  Made from corn.

I’m not kidding.

So next up on this Diet Experiment path is focus on eliminating corn and it’s bajillion derivatives.  I’ve got to admit it’s a little overwhelming.  But maybe if I clear out corn, I’ll find I can bring other stuff back in.  One can always hope.

Makes me wonder if tramadol has a cornstarch base or something because I got so much better after I stopped taking it.

Next week’s doctor’s visit is going to be good.

  1. October 30, 2009 at 1:35 am

    Hi, sorry I haven’t been around in a while. Since I had my hip surgery I haven’t been reading or posting much. Just read what you said about throwing up after any surgery, I usually do too, but it’s always because of the anesthesia, or the pain meds. Most any pain meds make me throw up. I know corn and I don’t have a problem, it’s about the only food I’m pretty sure of. : ) Now tramadol will make me sick as a dog anyway. Now I tell them that I throw up after surgery and they give me something in my IV to help and I don’t get as bad. I did this time because they gave me too much pain medication on an empty stomach. My stomach just can’t tolerate it.
    Plus, if it makes me dizzy I get vertigo.
    Sure hope you don’t have a sensitivity to corn too.
    I am thinking I have another sensitivity to something else. Thinking I should go on an elimination diet, but will probably wait until after the holidays. It’ll just be so hard since we’re going out of town. But I might do some before then. Seems like every time I eat or drink my stomach bloats and hurts. Every time! I need to at least keep a diary.
    You are inspiring me.

    • jp
      October 31, 2009 at 9:23 pm

      Wendy~ Good to hear from you. It’s interesting that you get sick after surgery, too…are we just super sensitives or what??? I think it’s going to be a lifelong learning process to figure out which foods do what. But I’m glad your in it with me 🙂 Take care, Jacki.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

