Home > main > Rice tortilla chips

Rice tortilla chips

October 21, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Leftover dried out rice tortillas, fried in about one-sixteenth of an inch of light olive oil.  Set in an open phone book to drain and salted with the big sea salt.   Nummmm…  tasted all greasy and salty and crispy!  I’ve been missing crispy.  I’m sure it’s not low calorie but I don’t really care.  I added the pepper jack cheese and zapped it in the microwave for one minute.

Now that’s a lunch.

Hey, am I the only around drowning in phone books?  I swear we get 3 a year or more including a little tiny one…what’s that?  Now phone books are my go-to waste paper.  Gluing in the studio?  Pull out some phone book pages.  Ditto painting little things.  Need something to put down before you peel those veggies?  Yep, tear out some phone book pages; they even compost.  When I was doing crafts with kids I always had plenty of need for waste paper so voila!  Phone books.

But I digress.

Last night I put the chicken in the oven for about 90 minutes, only to find it wasn’t cooked at all.  Warmed, yes.  Cooked, no.  I hope my oven isn’t going out.  I turned it up and cooked it some more but that didn’t work.  Finally, as we were all starving, I put in on the stovetop and boiled the h*ll out of it.  That worked.  I’ve been using those extra large packages of chicken thighs which I can get for $.99/lb.  They are the simplest to debone…just one bone and a bit of gristle at the end.  Easy.

Maybe I need to clean my oven?  It’s not like it would be a chore…it’s a self cleaner that actually works.  Plus, if that didn’t work I would know there was something seriously wrong with it.  Kevin says he’ll take a look but it might be more….ummm…timely for me to just give the cleaning a try.

Know what I mean?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

