Home > main > Let me eat cake

Let me eat cake

October 19, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Still in the battle of the shingles here at the Putnam household.  That and hunkering down for this godawful flu epidemic.  I keep going back and forth on Jacob getting the vaccine…yesterday I was sure they were rushing it and today I’m sure he needs it.

So what do I do when worried?  Besides breaking out in shingles, that is.  I eat.  Yesterday, I started off with a cold pork chop for breakfast.  I needed the protein!  And I also needed some cake.  I’ve got my new gluten free oats from Bob’s Red Mill.  A oat and applesauce and cinnamon cake sounded pretty healthy to me so I started looking for the recipe online.  What did I do before the internet?

Here’s what I found; Oatmeal Applesauce Cake from someone’s gluten free oats site.  For the GF flour mix I used:

  • 2/3 cup sorghum flour
  • 1/3 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/3 cup arrowroot flour

That (hopefully) makes 1 and 1/3 cup.  The only other thing I changed was just dropping the white sugar and using 2/3 cup organic brown sugar as the only sweetener.  The cake baked up nicely with a lovely tan color.  It may be a little undercooked but I’ll just call that “extra moist”.

Mmmmmm….good for shingles.  Ha!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

