Home > main > Restorative sleep??!!

Restorative sleep??!!

October 14, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

This is still utterly amazing to me.  I went to bed last night after feeling crappy all day…migraine, low energy, some body aches.  My sleep was deep and restful and I woke up feeling good…even though it is raining outside! This blows me away.  For the past 4+ years a bad day was always part of a larger flare up.  Like three bad days in a row, three bad weeks in a row, and last winter, three bad months in a row.

I really needed those chocolate chip cookies 🙂

This whole experience has got me thinking about the nature of fibromyalgia.  There are so many related and overlapping conditions; chronic fatigue, Crohn’s, IBS, MS, lupus just to name a few.  I’ve been tested for neurological and immune system dysfunction with all my tests coming back normal.  In spite of that I’ve grown to believe FM is probably a neurological condition having to do with neurotransmitter regulation.  I know my neurotransmitters are screwed up from having PTSD and chronic depression (long story for another time).

But why would this diet make such a difference?  I’m eating more nutritionally for sure so that has to help my body work more efficiently.  What if FM is a problem of neurotransmitters AND immune system dysfunction?  I know this; the more pain I’ve been in, the more I crave carbs and sweets, the more I eat them, the more pain I’m in.

Or, what if the hypersensitivity that is a hallmark of fibromyalgia extends to the immune system in this way; foods that might previously given me some trouble now become big problems because my immune system is hypersensitive?  By eating a carefully controlled diet I can remove a lot of the food reactions and thereby reduce the overall effect of FM on my body.  Hmmmm…interesting.

I’m reading a new book called Twinkie, Deconstructed by Steve Ettlinger.  He researched the processed food industry by studying the ingredients in a Twinkie.  It’s fascinating and also kinda gross.  And it makes me wonder what all we are doing to ourselves with our American diets.

I feel a cause coming on.

In the meantime, I’ll just keep on tweaking my diet and trying to learn more about processed foods, whole foods, organic foods…and cookies.

  1. Viki
    October 14, 2009 at 8:39 am

    Maybe the migraines are related to bulging discs or something in your cervical spine and a separate issue from the fibro. Discs can degenerate as we age. For some reason my daily headaches have abated since I started on the topical magnesium. I’ll bring some by tomorrow afternoon before I go to class. Unless I am working on my papers until the last minute.

  2. Christiane
    October 22, 2009 at 11:05 am

    Whoa… came over from Elana’s Pantry and started scrolling through your posts, then hit this one. I also have PTSD, have suffered from depression in the past, have adrenal fatigue and deal with daily aches, pains and chronic sore throat. Sounds like we are kind of similar. I just read a great book: America Exhausted, that explains a lot about the energy cycle, etc. Have you heard of it? Wishing you good luck and health!

    • jp
      October 22, 2009 at 11:46 am

      Christiane~ It’s crazy how many of us there are that are dealing with these weird health problems. It really makes me wonder about what we are doing in the US with our food supply! Thanks for the book suggestion…I’ll be looking for it at the library. And thanks for reading my blog 🙂 Best wishes, Jacki

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

