Home > main > I am getting strong

I am getting strong

October 12, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

As you might have read, yesterday started out a little funky.  But as I did my stretches and got limbered up for the day, the kinks started to work themselves out.  Oh well, with a little help from my pain pills, too.

Here’s the amazing part…amazing to me anyway…I started to do laundry.  Then I worked in my studio.  In the afternoon I went for a l-o-n-g walk; the kind of walk I used to take before I got sick.  I’ll bet it was a couple of miles.  Miles!  This blows me away.

In the late afternoon I jumped in the van and scooted up to the South side to Huckleberry’s Market.  It’s pretty pricey but they have the biggest health food/specialty food selection.  I wanted something bread-like.  I had made lima beans with pork the day before and Kevin’s bread looked mighty tempting.  I bought japanese mochi and rice tortillas.  I baked up some mochi and ate it with my beans.  Not bad…I could grow to like them more.  Meghan, my only daughter, tried the tortillas.  She pronounced them edible; a little more chewy than wheat tortillas.  That’s actually a pretty good review since she is very selective about what she will eat.

By the end of the day I must have put through about 8 loads of laundry…all folded.  Only my closest friends will know what a shocker this is.

How am I doing today?  Pretty damn good.  I slept well and woke up a bit stiff.  In between my shoulder blades is bothering me but only about a 4 out of 10 which is okay.  My body is sore from the long walk but that’s to be expected because I am 53 and have been sick for 4 years.

So this morning, I got Jacob ready and off to work, ate gluten free oatmeal for breakfast and went to work in the studio.  It’s noon now and I’m ready for a break and a bit of a rest and then back at it.

Another good day.

  1. Viki
    October 13, 2009 at 8:35 am

    I am so happy for you!! Miles. I hope some day I can be moving along like that. When I see my doctor in November, I’m gonna ask if I can be test for a wheat allergy.

    I could barely get out of bed yesterday. I wondered if it was because of my new pain medication–garbapentin–making me so exhausted but it was a combination of the weekend from hell at work and the fibro. Today I’m back to normal, the fibro normal that is with stiffness and pain but my energy is up.

    • jp
      October 13, 2009 at 8:41 am

      Thanks, Viki. I was tired yesterday from all that activity but that’s no big surprise. Today I think I”m working on a migraine…yuk…but otherwise grateful to be holding my own with this weather change. Sounds like your work was awful! That would be enough to flare me up all by itself…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

