Home > main > This takes the cake

This takes the cake

Gluten free quinoa and coconut breakfast cake, that is.  The original recipe is from Karina’s Kitchen.  I made several changes to it so I’ll give my version here.  It was so good that I ate about 4 pieces throughout the day.

What can I say?  It’s good cake.

Quinoa and Coconut Cake

Prepare a 10 x 13 inch pan.  I oiled mine with olive oil, then cut a sheet of parchment to fit.  After laying down the parchment paper I turned it over so there was oil on both sides.  It lays in the baking pan very obediently after that.

  • 1 1/2 c cooked quinoa, I used red quinoa
  • 1/2 c sorghum flour
  • 1/2 c arrowroot powder
  • 3/4 c almond meal
  • 1 t baking soda (I still have my regular old baking soda and I don’t know if it’s gluten free)
  • 1/2 t sea salt
  • 1 t xanthan gum
  • 2 t ground cinnamon

Put all of the above in a small bowl and combine them. Then, in a different bowl put:

  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 c olive oil
  • 3/4 c organic brown sugar
  • 3 to 4 T agave syrup
  • 2 t vanilla extract  (Is mine gluten free?  I’m not sure yet.  I’m still a newbie so you check yours)

After you have all these things combined then add the dry ingredients into the wet and mix well.  Now stir in these:

  • 1/2 c unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 c seedless raisins
  • 1/2 c chopped pecans
  • 1/4 c flax seed, this was a scant quarter cup.

I ended up adding about 3 T hemp milk to make the batter a little more workable.  And I use the term “batter” loosely.

All this goes into a 10×13 baking pan.  I used a spatula to smooth it all out.

Karina says to let it rest while you wait for the oven to heat up to 350 degrees F.  Then I put it in the oven for 25 minutes or until a knife inserted into the middle comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack.

This cake tasted great and held together well.  What didn’t get eaten right away was placed in the freezer to keep.  Today I took some out, zapped it for 30 seconds in the microwave and poured some cold canned coconut milk over the top.

It was GOOD.  And I’m not kidding!

  1. October 6, 2009 at 9:55 am

    i am loving this recipe stuff although I haven’t actually tried any of them. I just got my printer to working again so now I will try to cut and paste and print just the recipes and not come out with nine or ten pages of stuff like I did this morning when I tried to isolate a passage and print it.

    overdid it sunday when we cut, hauled and put away a cord of wood. my neck, my EBV oh my ohmy whinewhine….. I felt so healthy and fit though while doing allthis outside northwest tough stuff!! It was a bit of a heartbreak to get caught on the downside. oh well, work a little smarter next time. that’s becoming a mantra for me. I am sure you understand.

    have about 5 things on my list of to dos today that looks like 50million.

    so onward.

    I am appreciating this website more and more! thank you. gonna eamil it to Andy right now!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

