Home > main > The results are in

The results are in

September 25, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Eggs are back…officially.  I really wanted to give my body a couple of days to respond.  If you know FM, then you know about delayed reactions.  So I’m feeling good about the egg.  This is going to work wonders on my baking!

I don’t think I’ll try anything new just yet as my cold is making me feel awful and I don’t want to add to the problem by eating something that might cause pain.  I really thought I would be more anxious to put foods back into the rotation but it’s been such a long time since I felt this free of pain that I’m in no hurry to take a chance.  Just so I can eat one thing instead of another??  No thanks.

Now for the sake of full disclosure I need to talk about craving.  Yes, I am experiencing strong cravings that are both continued and impulsive.  But the way I’m dealing with it so far is to try substitution.  I remember from my early days of recovery that cravings will pass if you can just withhold action for a little bit.  Here are some of the ways I am coping with cravings:

  • Go for a walk out of the house and away from the food.
  • Eat a substitute.  Like sweet potato…it’s pretty satisfying and with a little butter and cinnamon you can almost fake yourself into believing it’s pie.
  • Remember the last time you ate something that made you sick.  At the beginning of my blog I talked about that last chocolate/chocolate chip “muffin” and how sick I was the next day…my body pain went through the roof and I had a migraine.
  • Immerse yourself in a good book.  This is Distraction 101.
  • Get to the computer and watch stupid videos that make you laugh.  Viral videos, silly stuff on You Tube.  Short and sweet.  But you have to laugh out loud!
  • Spend 10 minutes confused by which thing you should do and by that time the craving probably has passed!

If it fails and I eat something that I didn’t want to then so what?  I’m going to have pain for a day or so.  It’s not like I haven’t just done this for the last god-knows-how-long.

Then I’m going to pick myself up and start again.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

