Home > main > New developments

New developments

September 22, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Yesterday, for the first time in a very long time, I only took one half of a hydrocodone for pain.  Remembering last winter, when there was a point where I took 3 hydrocodones and 6 tramadols A DAY!  This is incredible to me.  It made for a bit of a rough night as my body is dependent and had a few things to say to me while I was trying to sleep.  But there isn’t any big pain rebound this morning.

Kind of a frigging miracle if you ask me.

I’ve been able to deal with my remaining pain and fatigue with rest, ice and heat.  So far.  I mean the weather has been pretty good, too, which helps.  It seems like the biggest piece of my fibro left over has been the fatigue.  But that is so much better than the pain.  I think my pain is consistantly staying under a 5…and usually way under.

I feel like I should spread the word.  But I’m not sure what that means.  Would this work for others with FM?  Not to follow the same exact diet really but to go on an elimination diet and see what foods are exacerbating their pain?  Whenever I try to really tell someone about it I’m always wary of sounding like the lady who tried to sell me shark cartilage…but I’m not selling anything.

Maybe I should search out other blogs about fibromyalgia and try to link to them. Considering the suicide rate among people with FM, the idea of not eating some foods and eating more of others instead isn’t very radical.

Any ideas out there???

  1. September 23, 2009 at 10:28 am

    I’m so glad you are getting some relief from your symptoms. I was once told I had fibromyalgia, IBS, chronic fatigue….. you get the idea. And I searched and searched for some relief just like you. I knew there had to be something out there, and was pretty sure there was something wrong with my food. I tried to eliminate different things by the advise of the doctors, first I was told to try a vegetarian diet…not a great idea. All the bread and pasta was killing me and we just didn’t know it.
    Finally after many years of trial and error I asked to be tested for food allergies and found out I have a “slight” allergy to wheat, so I stopped eating it all together and started feeling so much better, but still something wasn’t quite right. I started reading so much about gluten intolerance so I decided to stop eating gluten and WOW did my life change!! I talked to the doctor about Celiac’s disease but he said I would have to start eating gluten again to be tested, well, I’m not willing to do that. He said he’s pretty certain I have it. I get the rash and all that.
    I went back to my Fibromyalgia support group and told them about what had happened to me. I expected them to want to try the gluten free diet, or at least to try and search out and find out if they had any food allergy. All they did was exclaim that they couldn’t give up bread, and other foods that I can no longer eat. I tried to tell them there are substitutes, and isn’t it worth it to feel better? But all they could hear was one more thing they had to give up. They couldn’t hear the promise of a cure. I was amazed, and hurt. I had been the organizer of this group for years, I knew these people, i couldn’t believe they wouldn’t try this small thing to try and get better.
    I hope as you share your story you don’t run in to the same resistance I did. But if you do, please don’t take it personally. Hopefully someone will hear and understand that there is hope.

    good luck on your journey.

    Wendy

    • jp
      September 23, 2009 at 8:04 pm

      Dear Wendy,

      Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment. I was told about diet from a fellow fibromite 2 or 3 years ago and I said the same thing, “I’m not willing to give up my treats”. Until this year…and then I was willing to try anything.

      Last winter was the worst winter I’ve ever had. And now that I look back on it, I took solace by baking all winter. I would be hurting, then craving, then baking and eating it…which made me hurt and crave so I had to make more. It went on and on all winter. I just kept thinking it couldn’t make that much difference.

      Boy, was I wrong.

      I’m so happy to make contact with you and so glad your diet is working for you. I’d like to put a link to your blog on my site if that’s okay with you. And hope you feel free to do the same.
      Thank you,
      Jacki

  2. September 24, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Dear Jacki,

    Again, I’m so glad you are feeling better!

    Feel free to put a link to my blog on your site and I will do the same about your blog on my blog.

    It’s actually kind of sad, there are only a couple of people from the fibromyalgia group who still talk to me. Now those two are still friends with me, but most of them just don’t feel comfortable around me any more because I don’t have FM symptoms any more. (unless I accidentally get “glutened”) It’s weird really.

    Good luck on your journey.
    If I can help you in any way please don’t hesitate to drop me a line.
    Wendy

  3. jp
    September 25, 2009 at 8:06 am

    Wendy…that is sad. I know I resisted doing anything with my diet for the first few years. But when the thought of another winter is enough to make one feel like calling the suicide hotline, well, you’d think it would make one willing. It sure did for me.

    I feel like you…that I want to shout from the rooftops…try this!! I’m sure it’s not the answer for everyone but it’s the answer for some. And it can’t hurt. I figured if I was willing to take narcotics and steroids into my body then eating a little different wasn’t such a big deal.

    Thanks for your kindness in offering help. I’m going to need it around the holidays for sure 🙂
    Jacki

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

