Home > main > Damn brownies

Damn brownies

September 22, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

The big experiment tonight was brownies made from a special mix I got at Fresh Abundance.  I was sorely disappointed. I don’t know if it was something I did, the fact that I used egg replacer instead of eggs or what all…but they had a gross extra taste that shouldn’t have been there.  So I’ll keep the brand name to myself until I figure it out.

Damnit.

I was jonesing bad for some brownies.  I sure have had more craving in the last week than I did the first two.  I’m not sure what that is about.  Anyway, I’m sad about the brownies.  Maybe I should be baking something that comes more naturally with my diet, like apple crisp.  I bet I could make the topping with ground walnuts, some vegan butter, spices and some agave.  Or at least organic raw brown sugar.  I’ll bet that would be less of a disaster.

So I have to see how I react tomorrow.  The brownie mix had evaporated cane juice, sweet brown rice flour, dutch cocoa, tapioca flour, arrowroot flour, salt and xanthan gum.  The cakiness of it was good…I suspect one of the flours have a taste I found off-putting.  It had 31 g total carbs and 20 g total sugars.  That would be the combo that gets me if anything does.  I’m hoping that the no gluten, no wheat, no soy, no corn, no potato, no peanuts, no tree nuts, no dairy and no casein add up to something!  Good lord.

Mostly I wanted to get this information down for myself in case I’m in pain tomorrow because sometimes that makes my memory foggy.  Thanks for wading through it with me.

Night, night.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

