Home > main > Great dinner

Great dinner

September 16, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Even if I do say so myself.  Remember that I’m doing this diet on the cheap.  I went to the store this evening and found some thin pork steak on sale.  I cut them up into serving size pieces and dredged them in a “breading” made from ground almonds and a little gluten-free baking mix.  I browned both sides in canola oil and set the pan onto medium low for the short time it took to cook all the way through.

In the meantime I was roasting sweet potato shoestrings in the oven…another recipe from Karina’s Kitchen.  I’m loving this artist/cook/blogger/gluten and dairy free goddess.  The potatoes are simple to make but there is something magic about the taste of sweet potatoes seasoned with salt, pepper and cinnamon.  I’m getting more inclined to sneak cinnamon in whenever I can because just a hint makes anything taste (and smell) ever so slightly exotic.  And if you live in a medium small town for your entire life, like me, you need exotic whenever you can get it!

I finished the meal with simple steamed broccoli.  Low carb, strong protein, and delicious eating.  Not to mention cheap.  Which of course I just mentioned.

I stuffed myself…not the best way to go but I won’t be sad about not making dessert.  If I get snacky before bed I’ll pop a few sweet green grapes courtesy of my neighbors, Pavel and Svetlana.  Pavel knows how to grow the grapes.

Perfect.

I should say also that the hemp shake I made for lunch carried me through the whole afternoon, through a trip to the store and back again.  Plus, enough energy to dream up and cook dinner.  That’s a good thing.

In fact…that is a great thing.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

