Home > main > A little more protein

A little more protein

September 14, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Yesterday, I tried to up the protein in my diet to see if that took care of some extra soreness.  So for lunch I made up something nummy:

Chicken Lettuce Wrap

  • Torn pieces of cooked chicken
  • Leaf lettuce
  • Leftover hummus
  • Fresh basil

Using a lettuce leaf like a tortilla, spread a spoonful or two of hummus in the middle.  On top of that put chicken meat.  The hummus makes a nice bed and kinda holds the chicken in place.  On top of that I put a leaf of fresh, organic basil.  It always smells so good.

Then be creative about rolling it up in the lettuce leaf to make a packet of deliciousness.  I found it very satisfying to have something to eat with my hands for lunch. No missing sandwiches today!

I was going to reintroduce some new food yesterday, probably corn since there are two ears of organic sweet corn that came in our Community Supported Agriculture box just sitting lonely in the fridge.  But because I had an unexpected amount of pain yesterday I decided not to try it.  Yet.  I find myself reluctant to reintroduce foods just because it’s been so long since I felt this good and I’m not wanting to take a chance on going back.  I’m sure I will try out some foods again and see if they make a difference.  It’s the only real way to know what has been exacerbating the FM. I’m just going to let it happen in it’s own time.

For dinner last night Kevin made some tomato-less chili with hamburger.  It was the first time I ate hamburger since starting the diet.  Not the first time I ate red meat though.  I just don’t eat a lot of meat normally.  But with the chicken and the hamburger yesterday, my body feels much better this morning.

The moral to the story is to watch the carb to protein ratio.  Eat those proteins!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

