Home > Uncategorized > A word before dinner time.

A word before dinner time.

September 11, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I was able to shake off the creepies in my neck today starting out with a blender concoction for breakfast.  It was for three of us; me, Jacob and my daughter Meghan who just unexpectedly moved back home.  Don’t ask.

Loosely translated to this:

  • Flax seed ground into meal
  • A few almonds ground into meal, too
  • 1 ripe peach, unpeeled (hey, it’s morning!)
  • 1 lovely pear
  • 1 completely frozen ripe banana  (I try to keep peeled bananas in the freezer for just such occasions)
  • A couple ice cubes
  • 3+ cups of almond milk, rice milk, any kind of milk that moves you

Blend it up and serve.  It tasted pretty good.  The frozen bananas always make it feel like a milkshake.

I was able to run through the house like the proverbial headless chicken after my mom called to say she was bringing my Auntie over asap.  Yikes!  I had enough energy to clear my dining table (trust me, this required energy), ditch the dirty clothes in my bedroom and unload/load the dishwasher.  PLUS, I could carry on a halfway coherent conversation when they got here!

This is truly a new and wonderful thing.

Kevin went to our family doctor today and in between all his issues he told her about my new diet and how it is helping.  She wants to read the blog (hi! Dr. Kooy :)) and see what it’s all about.

Even though I started with a stiff, kinda sore neck, I would say that my pain level never went over a 3-4.  When I found myself getting really irritable then I took a pain pill but I’m getting almost complete relief with a half of pill.

Compare this to last winter when I was taking 6 tramadols and sometimes 3 hydrocodones a day. Crazy, right?  Yeah, and I was still having break through pain.

So part of me is worried this is just some kind of freak placebo effect.  If so then fine…I just don’t want it to go away.  The weather has been warm and sunny so there’s not too much of a test that way (low pressure systems make me feel like h*ll).

I’m going to try to minimize the worry and maximize the gratitude.  And I’m going to have FUN!

  1. Denise
    September 12, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    How lovely & refreshing to hear of your perseverance & positive results in reducing your Fibro pain through diet. Very encouraging for so many who suffer with Fibromyalgia. While your dietary sucesses may not work for everyone, it’s great to know that there really can be light at the end of the tunnel! From Lisa, myself, & all of us who are blessed by Rest Ministries, thank you! 🙂

  2. jp
    September 12, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Thank you for your kind words.
    Jacki

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

