Home > Uncategorized > Hummus? YES, hummus!

Hummus? YES, hummus!

September 10, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ll never eat store bought hummus again.  Well, probably not…what I mean to say is WOW, what a difference.  And it was so easy.  Hummus if full of stuff that is good for you.  I got the basic recipe at Karina’s Kitchen and changed it to suit my tastes.  For my hummus I used:

  • Maybe about two cups of organic garbanzo beans that I cooked up yesterday  (you can used canned, also)
  • two giant cloves of organic garlic
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • a few organic fresh basil leaves
  • balsamic vinegar instead of lemon juice (’cause I’m off citrus right now)
  • Oh, and about a a third cup of tahini

I whirled it good in my little food processor.  Then I skipped the cumin because I don’t really like it, put in some cayenne and sea salt and whirled it some more.

It’s like a whole new food.  Ate it with some rice/sesame/quinoa crackers.  Delicious!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

