Archive

Archive for August 29, 2009

Today's lousy eating report.

August 29, 2009 Leave a comment

I have been eating junk yesterday and today.  My food so far today has been:

Breakfast~ a nectarine.

Lunch~ Leftover pesto

Snacks~ Doritos, ice cream and carrots.

For dinner I will probably have PB&J sandwich since Jacob is not home for dinner and I don’t want to cook.

Not surprisingly my pain has been rotten all day and I’ve had to take extra pain medication (hydrocodone) which has only helped minimally.  It also rained this morning and has been cloudy which also adds to the pain.  After I pigged out on Doritos I got really tired but it could have been the meds.  So not a great day.

I’m excited and scared about starting on Thursday.  Whenever I start freaking out, I read my “Things I Can Eat” list and feel better.  This has to be the best time of year to try it since there is an abundance of fresh fruit and veggies available that are grown locally.

In reading the different lists of foods all called Elimination Diet (ED) there are a few conflicts in the phase one foods.  Some say red meat is okay, others say no.  Same with oats and soy.  I think for my purposes, since I am just kinda making this up as I go anyway, I will allow red meat because I don’t eat it that often.  But will not include soy or oats in phase one.

And some ED sites (not the ED sites for men, haha) say stay in phase one for 5 days.  Some say stay with it for 6 weeks!  I think the rule I’ll go by says to stay with it until I feel markedly better for at least 48 hours.  This should take 5 to 10 days, I think.  Then I can start on the next phase which is reintroduction of foods one at a time.

That’s the plan so far!

The elimination diet

August 29, 2009 Leave a comment

Here are some links if you are interested in this diet.  It is NOT to loose weight, though that would be fun if it happened too.

At About.com

Fibromyalgia and Hypoglycemia Diet

Allergy Avoidance Diet

Remember, I am putting this out there as something I am attempting.  Please don’t do something stupid and then come back and sue me because I suggested these links or this diet.  Call your doctor if you have questions.  I’m just a middle aged women trying to exert some power over a chronic illness.  So there.

The Mighty Fibromite

August 29, 2009 1 comment

My plan is to try and improve my lot by doing something drastic to my diet. I’ve got fibromyalgia and with another fall and winter staring me in the face I’m going to extremes (for me) to try and change my pain destiny.

It’s called the Elimination Diet and probably lots of people have heard about it before me.  It calls for eating a very restricted diet for one to two weeks, then introducing foods back one at a time.  The point?  To find the foods that exacerbate my pain and fatigue and keep them out of my system.

For whatever reason, I am just crazy enough to think that other people might be interested in this experiment as it goes along in real time.  I have no idea if I can really do it but I’m willing to try and write down how it goes.  For those of you who have fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue and other chronic illnesses, you might be interested in trying this someday for yourself.  If you know someone who is sick, pass the word.

All I can promise is that I will report my activities truthfully.  I have to keep a diary anyway so I’ll just use the blog as my forum.  I am also hoping that putting this out there will help me stay accountable when I want to go on a binge or want to give up…both of which I suspect I will experience.

My target start date is September 3rd which is next Thursday.  That is our “money day” so I can go buy the appropriate foods.  Also it gives me some time to binge out and really make myself sick on all the crap I love to eat.  I’ve bought some ice cream and two kinds of Doritos.  Last night, I ate Doritos and a carrot for dinner.

Yeah, I’ve got food issues.

I’ll be back later with some links talking about the Elimination Diet; what is it, why do it, and what I am hoping for.